23 Mobile Things, Thing #3

Iheve used a few of the included apps that they suggested reviewing, both personally and professionally.

On both my phoneand tablet I use a barcode scanner, the creatively named Barcode Scanner by ZXing Team. It works as a barcode reader, QR code reader, as well as several more formats that I have never heard of. At work I use the barcode reader as an ISBN scanner for web apps like GoodReads or LibraryThing.

Google Goggles is a great tool for searching non-tradition information. If you see a picture that you recognize, but can’t place, take a snapshot with Goggles and let Google find more info. Goggles also can bring up info on other things you can take pictures of like landmarks, products, handwriting, and other objects.

One Utility that I use almost every day, both at home and at work is Evernote. Evernote is a unified, cloud synced notebook. If you write a note on the phone app to your Evernote account, it will automatically show up to the desktop application, and tue web service as well. At my library I use it as a unified note service. I upload ideas for new displays, important articles to read later, copies of projects and displays that I’ve completed, shopping lists that I can type out on computer to browse on my phone at the store later.

There are a plethora of great apps out there for productivity, maybe I’ll review more in the future.

Leave a Reply

